Difference between lok sabha and rajya sabha

Difference Between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

Spread the Differences

Here is what you want to know about the Difference Between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Lok Sabha is a crucial unit of the Indian Parliament. The Parliament of India is constituted by three major components namely the
President of India,
Lok Sabha and
Rajya Sabha.
The President of India is the executive head of the parliament in India.

What is Lok Sabha

All the members of the Lok Sabha are called MPs(members of parliament) are elected by general elections, they take control. The Lok Sabha operates for five years unless it’s dissolved earlier for a few reasons. the quantity of Lok Sabha seats allotted for a state depends on the population.
Lok Sabha is often referred to as the house of individuals that passes bills and laws in India. in step with some reports, the people of India have elected seventeen Lok Sabhas. the most function of Lok Sabha is to confirm that the govt. is performing its functions together with passing bills and laws. it’s interesting to notice that Lok Sabha has the superiority to decide about financial matters.

What is Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha is that the upper house of the Parliament of India. As of 2021, it has a total capacity of 245, of which 233 are elected by the legislatures of the states and union territories by using their single transferable votes by Open Ballot while the President can appoint 12 members for his or her contributions to art, literature, science, and social services. The Rajya Sabha’s potential capacity is 250 (238 elected, 12 appointed), as per article 80 of the Indian Constitution.

The Rajya Sabha may have a maximum of 250 members, most of whom are elected to six-year terms by the states’ legislative assemblies and the union territories; 12 are appointed by the president of India. The allocation of seats to every state and union territory is decided by population, with each state or territory receiving a minimum of 1 seat. The terms expire every two years among one-third of the house members. the bulk parties within the Rajya Sabha and therefore the Lok Sabha aren’t necessarily identical.

The powers of the Rajya Sabha are the same as those of the Lok Sabha. Most bills are introduced in either house. To become law, they have to be approved by both houses and receive the assent of the president of India. The Rajya Sabha, however, cannot introduce, reject, or amend revenue bills, which are the only real prerogative of the Lok Sabha, nor can it issue a vote of confidence within the government, which is additionally the responsibility of the lower house. The Rajya Sabha nevertheless retains some exclusive powers, most notably the facility to approve (by a two-thirds majority). Unlike the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha isn’t subject to dissolution by the prime minister

Difference Between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

Lok Sabha Rajya Sabha
Lok Sabha is a lower house of the parliament Rajya Sabha is the upp[er house of the parliament
maximum members are 552 maximum members are 250
Prime Minister is the leader of the Lok sabha The vice president acts as a chairperson of Rajya sabha
Lok Sabha operates for 5 years Rajya Sabha operates as a permanent body
Lok Sabha is more powerful than Rajya Sabha Rajya Sabha is comparatively less powerful
Money Bills
Money bills can only be introduced in the look sabha Rajya Sabha does not exercise much power over money bills


Hence, after examination of the Difference Between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha as we came to know the structure of the Indian Parliament and how powers are allocated to the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and the overall working of the Indian government

More Related Readings

Difference Between IAS and IPS
Difference Between GDP and GNP

Spread the Differences
content of this page is protected
Scroll to Top